Author Topic: Brand Newbie here - working on a Land Speed Project (1.5L or less diesel).  (Read 17982 times)

January 05, 2012, 09:27:47 pm

Jetmugg

• Veteran

It feels great to be here.  I am working on a diesel truck project (actually an '84 Dodge Rampage) to run in the H/DT (1.5L or less Diesel Truck) class at Bonneville.  I'm currently working on the chassis, but my mind is constantly racing (no pun intended) about the powerplant.  This is not a high budget operation for me.  Low-buck is crucial to get this program done without raising my wife's blood pressure too high.

Anyway, I need to build/buy a diesel engine displacing 1.5L or less, capable of propelling my Rampage up and over 105 mph over a 3 mile measured course on the Bonneville Salt Flats.  105 is the current record, set by a VW Rabbit pickup.  My goal is to beat the existing record.

For the bottom end, I figure I will need a 1.6TD block with a 1.5L rotating assembly.  I'm open for suggestions on the top half of the engine.  It will be a turbocharged, intercooled setup to take full advantage of the rules.

A VW 5-speed manual trans will transfer the power to the wheels. 

Some custom pump work will most likely be required, as will a bigger than stock turbo, and an oil cooler is in the plan as well.

One idea that continues to interest me is the "Franken" diesels, using the 1.6L TD bottom ends and the 1.9L IDI heads.  I understand that the static compression is lowered with this setup, but that top-end power is good, and higher boost levels are usable.  However, I'm still open for input as to whether a 1.5L bottom end will see any advantage to using the 1.9L IDI head.  Will there be enough static compression to get the engine started?  I have heard differing opinions about this combination, but so far no one has stepped up and said - "I've built a 1.5L Franken Diesel", and here's how it runs....